New Runner

1

March 28, 2012 by carol

I hate exercise, have for as long as I remember. I was the geek in gym class who was picked last for most team events- except volleyball, I was actually pretty decent at that. As an adult, I pretend bowling counts as a sport and swimming mostly consists of floating around on a raft in our pool. Lately though I’ve found two exercies that I think I can actually stick with – jogging and yoga DVDs. There are two benefits to both of them. You can do them by yourself, though Hubby usually runs with me, and neither take much room. Well, I guess running does take a lot of room, but it’s outside, not in my house. And I’m getting in shape, losing some weight, becoming more flexible.

But to be honest, the biggest reason these two are working for me is that they make me feel cute, sexy. Silly, I know, but jogging in my new shoes, with a nice looking t-shirt and my pink visor makes me feel good about myself. Yoga’s kinda the same, except without the gear. Bending and holding the poses makes me feel young, bendable. Of course, it doesn’t hurt that I’ve lost about 6 pounds either – about 10 more to go.

This fall I’m planning on running in a 5K. I have a lot of work to do before then, since I’ve just started this whole running thing, but my goal will be to finish. I’m not worried about how long it takes me.

One thought on “New Runner

  1. Ahh! I love how new gym clothes makes you feel. Always motivates me too! Best of luck!!

Leave a Reply

