I’m the Bad Guy

2

April 5, 2012 by carol

I’m not good at being the bad guy. Like most people I know, I want to be liked. I want my daughter and her friends to like me at least some of the time, I want the nieghbors to like me, I want people at work to like me. And for the most part, I  think they do. If that’s not true, please don’t tell me; I’m quite comfortable living with my delusions. But the other day, I had no choice. I had to be the bad guy.

The neighbors across the road from us are a couple a little younger than us, and they’ve lived there as long as we’ve been in our house. We nod to each other, but that’s about it. For the record, I’m not one of those talkative, outgoing people. Leave me alone and I’ll leave you alone. Maybe six months ago, two kids showed up there. It seemed a little odd that two children, like 4 and 6, appeared out of nowhere, but whatever. And then the spring thaw came, and the girl, whose I found out is 7, came over to pet the dog and I was nice and chatted for a little while, and then her little brother came over, and then they wouldn’t leave. Finally I went inside, and took the dog, so away they went. A couple of days later, the girl asks if her older brother can use our basketball hoop. I say no. He’s not my daughter’s friend and I really don’t want a basketball hitting my house or car or flowerbed. Two days later, they ask again. No. Then one day, we pull in to our driveaway, and there they are, tossing a basketball at the hoop. They scatter, but it happens again and again. Finally, yesterday, They were there when I got home from work. Little girl asks again if they can use the basketball, which by the way they’re already doing. I say no, you need to stay out of my yard, especially if we’re not home. The older boy pipes up, “but the guy said we could.” Now I know full well “the guy,” my husband, did no such thing because we’ver discussed these kids at length neither of us wants tem in our yard. My response: “No he didn’t.” And the kids went back across the road. Hopefully they won’t be back.

I don’t think I was in the wrong here, was I? Their parents are not our friends, they’re not our daughter’s friends, as a matter of fact she avoids going outside if she sees them. I feel a little bad for the kids. Apparently their parents’ separated so they and their mom moved in with our neighbors, but still, can’t their mom keep them out of our yard?

I’m a little worried that one of these days I’m going to come home and find our house egged. And for now, I’m the bad guy, but someone has to be.

2 thoughts on “I’m the Bad Guy

  1. Carol I agree with you!! The neighbor kids need to respect your wishes. Yes it sounds like they’re in a bad situation, but that’s not your problem to fix. Keep the stories coming!! Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

